How To Eat Healthily (For The Self-Confessed Snackers).

Food glorious food, right? Well, myself and food have a love hate relationship. I love it (most of the time), but it has a wary, slightly fascinated, slightly horrified view of me.

In the morning, as with a lot of people, eating makes me generally nauseated. Eating, drinking, consuming anything before 9AM, is just not okay with my body. From 9AM-3PM, due to my complete laziness and exhaustion in the evening and my repulsion of food in the morning, I don’t have a bite to eat in a normal day. This means that when I get home, my tummy is grumbling and I have the munchies for anything I can get my hands on. After tea, I feel sick and go to bed feeling, well, not great. If this seems familiar, you’re probably in the same boat as me.

So, after a hells lot of research, here are a few things that I have found to aid me in my course to being an actually healthy human being. Hopefully you might find them useful as well.

1. Apples. Grab an apple before you leave the house. Even if you don’t have time to have a proper breakfast, or, like me, can’t physically eat in the morning, snacking at a break on an apple will make you feel full, due to the high water content (this also works with a lot of fruit and veg-but the high water content is key here).

2. Distract yourself. I find that munching whilst walking and listening to some music helps distract me from having to put food into my unwilling body, not to mention that taking a morning walk will make you feel refreshed and ready for the day.

3. Humus. If you’re lazy and/or exhausted in the evenings, quickly stuffing a pot of humus and some pita bread in your bag in the morning is a kind alternative to going hungry. If you can get some cucumber, carrot or tomatoes in there as well- even better. Plus, the chick-pea content of the humus will help you feel fuller for longer.

4. Be creative. Get home and, yeah, have a snack, but do something. If you’re watching TV or whatever, you end up eating more calories than if you’re doing something important, or productive, or creative. Draw something, do some schoolwork, read a book, go for a walk, enjoy your chosen place of habitude. A couple of hours of TV time is fine, but any more than that and you are in a bad place, my friend.

5. Eat slowly. You can enjoy all of your favourite foods, but instead of scarfing them down, savour them. You will get tired of the taste and eat less of them as well as feeling full after having eaten less as your body registers that food has entered the stomach.

So those are my tips for eating much more healthily on an everyday basis. These aren’t huge changes, to my everyday routine at least, but they will make a huge difference. I hope these helped.

Have a great day.

3 thoughts on “How To Eat Healthily (For The Self-Confessed Snackers).

Leave a Reply

