Art Exam Follow-Up.

A while back I wrote a post about my upcoming art exam (see here > https://allmythoughtsandwords.wordpress.com/2015/02/25/this-is-it/ <) and after 10 unreasonably short hours, yesterday I finally finished.

Surprisingly, it was similar to the image I had in my head but, unsurprisingly, I looked back on the finished product and saw things that I was dying to change. The background, for example, was too light and some sections felt a little rushed. I’m not completely taken aback by this turn of events, when you’re doing a final piece with so many time-consuming and intricate sections, 10 hours feels like 10 minutes.

My range of media was good- I used acrylic paint, ink, watercolour, biro, fineliners and pencil, so I’m covered there. My detail (especially in my observational drawing of a pocket watch) is suitable. I’ve experimented with ink and stencils, so no worries in that area. And yet, despite what I know I’ve done, I can’t help but stress over every little detail.

What if the examiner doesn’t like it? What if I didn’t do enough work? What if it’s just a massive failure? My mind is not a fun place to be right now.

In any case, I won’t even see the project until October next year, so there really isn’t anything I can do about it now. It’s a weak consolation, but knowing that it’s all out of my hands now is what’s keeping me sane. All responsibility for my grade is no longer on me.

And with that happy sentiment, I shall leave you.

Hav a great day.

Leave a Reply

