Ode to Emily.

I want to start by saying that I love you. Not in a romantic relationship type way, but in an ultimate friendship way. I could make an enormous list of reasons as to why you are my closest friend, so I’m just going to stick to the highlights.

You are loyal. You stick by me through whatever and if I tell you a secret, I know that it will go to your grave if need be. I know I can come to you with a favour or an issue and you will help me resolve it, no questions asked. You are so non-judgemental with anything that I am going through and I just know that you will support me no matter what.

You are diplomatic. If we have a disagreement, it will never, or hardly ever, become an argument. You will tell me your opinion then at least try to understand the situation from my point of view. If it does get at all heated, I can rely on you to calm down and settle the argument, because that’s what needs to happen, even if we only agree to disagree.

You listen. I know that I can tell you anything without feeling pretentious or dumb. You can look at me and know what I’m feeling when other people can’t. You listen to my body language and give me a hug or a kick up the arse if I need it.

You have never EVER given me bad advice and I look back at times and wish I’d have taken it. Enough said.

You are my favourite person. Ever. I’m sorry to everybody else, but I absolutely adore you. I want to travel with you, experience new things with you and I hope to any gods that are out there that we never drift apart.

Happy birthday Em.

Have a great day.

2 thoughts on “Ode to Emily.

  1. You are very lucky to have a friend like that. I am very lucky to have a wife like that. I hope Emily appreciates the friend she has in you. I am sure she does. And I hope you two share many a laugh and very few heartaches as you grow together. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

