This Is It.

The day I post this is the day of my GCSE Art Exam.

I have done my prep. I have done my media samples. I have studied my artist.

It all depends on the next 10 hours.

Well, not all of it. If you don’t live in the UK or haven’t taken art, here’s how it works. The course lasts for 2 years, Year 10 and Year 11, and in that time you do a series of projects. With each project comes a theme, a studied artist (or artists) and a final piece, or at least that’s how we do it at our school. We also do observations of real objects and original pieces to add to our work.

In each project, we do various studies, each in a different media, each adding something new to the portfolio we build up. The course demands that you experiment, try new things and document it. You would think that all of the samples and documentation would annoy or bore me, but it really doesn’t.

So, all of the work we do before January of Year 11 (when we get our exam paper) counts for 60% of our grade. Anything after that, 4 months of work plus a 10 hour final piece, makes up the missing 40%. Whilst that puts a lot of pressure on 4 months, it is the best work we do.

And tomorrow is my exam. I would be lying if I said I was completely at ease, but I’m not terrified. I have done everything and anything to ensure that it all goes as smoothly as possible. I have put in the effort. Now it is my time to make it count. Wish me luck.

Oh, and here is my final piece plan. The theme is steampunk and in each of the large cogs will be an image relating to the theme. The man and woman cut out of astate will be silhouettes and the colours rustic and metallic.

streampunk final piece

Here’s hoping it all goes well.

Have a great day.

2 thoughts on “This Is It.

    1. Great! I’m on track for the first 5 hours- 2 of the cog images done, background done and the actual cogs have their first layer of paint. Another 5 hours to go ^.^ Thanks for asking 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

