How To Wear Dark Lipstick.

If you’re reading this, it’s probably for one of two reasons:

  1. You don’t know how to apply it without getting it all over your face- This one’s easy. You can either line your lips in a similar shade to your chosen lipstick, so it’s much easier to fill in, use a lip brush to apply it or try your best then take some lipstick remover on the end of a cotton bud and clean it up afterwards. Simple.
  2. OR you feel self-conscious wearing it in public because it seems a bit too… Goth? Brash? Bold?- Not so simple.

But, I think I have found a winning solution to this problem. I also used to feel incredibly self-conscious when doing something so bold because people talk and judge and take the mick of anyone who does something even remotely out of the ordinary. Even though I liked how I looked, I didn’t have the self-confidence to pull it off.

What was worse was when, after coming downstairs after putting on a dark burgundy shade for the first time, my mum looked at me for a second and then said, “Nope, it’s not working for you Caitlin. Go take it off.” The she just walked away. I’m all for honesty, but I really liked it and she could have been a little more tactful.

It wasn’t until year 11 until I started to really have a new perspective. I started to think less of what people thought and more of what I wanted- With my future, my colleges, my goals. It was then that I realised that I will literally never see the majority of people on a daily basis ever again. Ever. And the people who were happy with my decisions and were supportive of my choice of life goals were the people who I will see and talk to. They are the people who matter.

After having seen the bigger picture, my choice in lipstick really didn’t seem that noteworthy. I really couldn’t care less about what everyone else thought, it is only myself that I’m trying to impress.

So, I thought, “Hell yeah I’m gonna wear that dark purple lipstick that is looks awesome.” And I did. And it was wonderful. And liberating. It was what I wanted to do and it made me feel great.

So, go ahead and do whatever the heck you want with your lips, or hair or clothes or WHATEVER. I really can’t stress this enough. It is so good to be able to just feel great all the time and not give a damn. It is a conscious decision that I make everyday of my life. You should try it some time.

Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

