Merry Christmas And A Happy New Year.

Whew, Christmas done! Presents unwrapped, food eaten and family that you see twice s year visited. It’s been pretty full on, hasn’t it? Some parts of christmas I can guarantee you don’t like. Whether that’s having people invade your home or the stress of having to cook a meal for 20 people or an endless horde of dogs and small people bearing down on you with a crazy look in their eyes…

Getting distracted, but hey, don’t judge, I am severely sleep deprived. My point for this post came from “A Christmas Carol” by Charles Dickens. It is great book and it has a few points in it that are really relevant today.

Christmas in Britain (I don’t know about anywhere else in the world) is a time where schools collect boxes of useful non- perishables and give them to the homeless or elderly, as a token of good will. We also do a lot of fundraising for the salvation army and such, so that everybody can have a merry Christmas.

This is all well and good, wonderful, in fact, but one of the points made in “A Christmas Carol”, is that Christmas does not last all year round, the only time some of us ever give, is at Christmas. We don’t pay attention to adverts or donations¬† at tills or people in the street at any other time of year. And I’m glad that Christmas brings that out in people, I really am, but if it could last longer, the world would be better.

And whilst we’re on the topic of fleeting holidays, Thanksgiving seems to be rendered completely meaningless by Black Friday. On Thursday, you’re all like, “I am thankful for what I have, my family and friends, and I am content with my life.” But the next day, it’s all, “GIVE ME THE WAFFLEMATIC 5000, BITCH!” It’s like you want to contradict yourself in the worst way possible.

Anyway, I hope your Christmas was eventful, fun- filled and happy and that you all have a happy New Year. But just think about what I’ve said, maybe?

Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

